If you are a Louisiana resident taxpayer then you should use Form IT-540 to file your annual federal income tax return.

If you are a nonresident or part-time resident then you should use Form IT-540B.

If you are a nonresident athlete that is required to file a return due to earnings in the state of Louisiana then you should use Form IT-540B-NRA.

If you need to file an extension then you should file Form R-2868.

Who Must File?

You must file if you were a full-time resident, part-time resident, or a nonresident with income in Louisiana.

You must also file a return if you are military personnel whose home of record is Louisiana regardless of where you were stationed.

If you have overpaid your taxes through a declaration of estimated taxes then you must also file a return to receive a refund.

Tax Due Date

The tax due date in Louisiana is May 15th. If you file your return electronically then you can expect your return in about 8-10 days. If you file using paper then you could wait up to six weeks to receive your return.

If you are unable to meet the May 15th tax deadline then be sure to apply for the extension by May 15th. This extension will usually allow you an additional 6 months to file your return.

TurboTax Online offers free tax estimators to allow you to estimate the amount of your refund or your taxes due. Give them a try today!

TurboTax Online also offers state tax forms for all of the following states:

Alabama AL, Alaska AK, Arizona AZ, Arkansas AR, California CA, Colorado CO, Connecticut CT, Delaware DE, District of Columbia DC, Florida FL, Georgia GA, Hawaii H, Idaho ID, Illinois IL, Indiana IN, Iowa IA, Kansas KS, Kentucky KY, Louisiana LA, Maine ME, Maryland MD, Massachusetts MA, Michigan MI, Minnesota MN, Mississippi MS, Missouri MO

Montana MT, Nebraska NE, Nevada NV, New Hampshire NH, New Jersey NJ, New Mexico NM, New York NY, North Carolina NC, North Dakota ND, Ohio OH, Oklahoma OK, Oregon OR, Pennsylvania PA, Rhode Island RI, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee TN, Texas TX, Utah UT, Vermont VT, Virginia VA, Washington WA, West Virginia WV, Wisconsin WI, and Wyoming WY